Group members

All current group members are listed below.

Some photographs from conferences and activities outside the lab can be found here.

Dr Bela E Bode

Reader - PI

Bela is originally from Frankfurt am Main (Germany) where he studied chemistry as an undergraduate. For his postgraduate studies in Frankfurt he investigated quantitative aspects of pulsed dipolar EPR spectroscopy under the joint supervision of Olav Schiemann and Thomas Prisner. After a short postdoctoral stay with Thomas Prisner he moved to the Matysik group in Leiden (The Netherlands) to study optical methods in solid-state NMR spectroscopy before moving to his current position in St Andrews.

ResearchGate; Google Scholar; Orcid; ResearcherID;

Dr Katrin Ackermann


Katrin studied biochemistry at the University of Bayreuth and at the Goethe University of Frankfurt (Germany), where she prepared her thesis on liquid-state protein NMR. For her postgraduate studies she worked on diurnal rhythms in human post-mortem tissues at the Anatomy in Frankfurt. She continued to work in the field of human chronobiology during two postdoctoral stays at the University of Surrey (UK) and at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam (NL), before joining the University of St Andrews in 2012 and starting to work with EPR. Her projects in the Bode group are centred on EPR applications for structural biology and PELDOR quality control criteria.

ResearchGate; Google Scholar; Orcid

Laura Remmel

final year PhD student

Laura studied Chemistry at the Goethe University in Frankfurt (Germany) from 2012-2018 and obtained her Bachelor’s as well as her Master’s degree in Chemistry. Her Bachelor’s project was focused on the synthesis of inhibitors for the amyloid-β aggregation. For the final project of her Master’s degree she investigated the structures and dynamics of small proteins by liquid state NMR. She joined the Bode group in August 2018 to do her PhD and investigates biomedical applications of EPR spectroscopy.

Yannik Limbach

First year PhD student

Kirsty Bentley

Honours project student 2022-2023


Spencer Regan-Smith - MSc (Res) joint with Dr Alan Stewart 2022
Dr Josh L. Wort - PhD 2021 - PDRA 2021
Benjamin Bonk - Honours project student 2022
Miki Fukushimna - PGT project student 2021
Rachel Nixon - Royal Society of Chemistry Undergraduate Research Bursaries 2021
Dr Maria Oranges - PhD 2020
Viktorija Stikonaite - Honours project student 2020
Roxane Baron - Erasmus placement 2019
Roman Bittl - work experience 2019
Adam Chapman - Honours project student 2019
Dr Sonia Chabbra - PhD 2018
Renée Chan - Nuffield Research Placement 2018
Lewis McLean - Honours project student 2018
Ben Hoffmann - PGR placement 2018
Clémence Devallière - ERASMUS Placement 2017
Tobias Gartner - Nuffield Research Placement 2017
Chris Wong - Honours project student 2017
Jennifer Dobson - Honours project student 2017
Dr Angeliki Giannoulis - PhD 2016
Toni Clenaghan - Nuffield Research Placement 2016
Dr Silvia Valera - PhD 2016
Josh Ward - Honours project student 2016
James Moses - Honours project student 2016
Katrin Eckhardt - PGR placement 2016
Catherine Higgins - Honours project student 2015
William Naismith - Nuffield Research Placement and CREST Gold Award 2014
Ashleigh Lockett - Honours project student 2014